Databases for Kids

Note: To use the databases from home, click on the link or "Home Access" wherever noted. Patrons working inside the library need not do this.

Legend:
database icon = Subscription-based database, paid for by the library
arrow icon = Free website
  • A to Z the USA has information about all 50 United States and 6 territories. Find maps, flags, photos, and facts about states, counties and cities. Everything you need for your next report is here.
  • Biography in Context Search for famous people for your next school biography report.
  • CultureGrams Online lets you explore fun facts about countries and cultures worldwide. Check out recipes, hear national anthems, and more.  To use CultureGrams from home or another location outside the library, click here.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library lets you search reference books online. Good for school projects!
  • Grolier Online Passport - Published by Scholastic, this resource helps students with research and research skills and provides tools for teachers to use in the classroom. Includes Grolier Mulimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, Amazing Animals of the World, and the New Book of Popular Science.
  • History Resource Center: U.S. - Historical documents and journal articles covering United States history from pre-Colonial times to the present. 
  • History Resource Center: World - Reference and journal articles, primary sources, images, maps and charts covering all aspects of world history.
  • Kids InfoBits - Especially for kids in Kindergarten through Grade 5. This resource covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
  • Lands and Peoples - An encyclopedia of countries, cultures, and current events for middle and high school students.
  • Little Pim: Fun with Languages - Little Pim is part of Mango Languages, an online language learning system, with easy, fast and fun interactive lessons. To access Little Pim from outside the library, click here.
  • NoveList - Find great fiction and non-fiction books for kids and teens.
  • Student Resource Center Gold - This resource covers history, literature, science, social studies, and more. It includes reference material, more than 1,100 full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.
  • TumbleBooks offers animated, talking picture books that help kids learn to read. Play games, do puzzles, and much more!
  • Tutor.com is a live, online tutoring service. All tutors are certified and background-checked. Log in for help with math, social studies, English, and science. Use ProofPoint to have your papers proofread before you turn them in.
  • World Book Info Finder -  Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, this is a multimedia resource for science fair projects, biographies, links to world newspapers, and more.
  • World Book for Kids -  A resource for younger kids offering easy-to-read articles, multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities.
  • World Book Spanish Language Encyclopedia - Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos offers World Book’s excellent editorial content, rich media, and interactive features in Spanish.  Se puede buscar gente, plantas y animales, lugares, historia y gobierno, ciencias y matematicas, artes, religiones del mundo, y deportes y pasatiempos. Incluye el diccionairio visual, el mundo de animales, los periodicos del mundo hispanico y las actividades.

There are many more databases and websites that can be useful for school projects. Take a look at the main databases page for more, or try the Youth Services Department's Homework Center

Not sure where to start? Try Research Pro, a group of databases that can be searched simultaneously, including the library's catalog. You must use your library card number to use Research Pro.

Last updated: 1/30/2011