Health & Medical Resources
Note: To use the databases from home, click on the link or "Home Access" wherever noted. Patrons working inside the library need not do this.
Legend:

= Subscription-based database, paid for by the library

= Free website
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - A collection of health & medical reference books from Gale.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center - Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials.
- Legal Forms - the most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available, including Living Wills and Power of Attorney.
- MEDLINE - Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
- Universal Class - Access to over 540 online courses with real instructors guiding the learning, including alternative medicine, personal care, and medical coding.
- American Heart Association
- American Medical Association - American Medical Association Home Page
- CAPHIS - Consumer and Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Library Association
- Centers for Disease Control
- ClinicalTrials.gov - Linking Patients to Medical Research
- Drug Information from the FDA
- Drugs.com - Includes a pill identifier
- DrugWatch.com - Information about prescription and over-the-counter medications, drug recalls, and interactions
- Family History - Contains forms to use for personal health record keeping
- HealthGrades - Independent healthcare ratings
- Mayo Clinic
- Medline Plus - Information is current and reviewed by professionals
- NAMI of Greater Chicago - A resource for people with loved ones with mental illness
- National Cancer Institute - Considered the best site for cancer news, stats, research, and clinical trials
- National Institute on Aging--Resource Directory
- Nursing Home Compare- From Medicare.gov
- PubMed - A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to full-text articles and other related resources.
- Treatment & Rehab Centers Locator
- WebMD
Last updated: 11/18/2011