Genealogy
Note: To use the databases from home, click on the link or "Home Access" wherever noted. Patrons working inside the library need not do this.
Legend:

= Subscription-based database, paid for by the library

= Free website
- America's Genealogy Bank - Quickly find your ancestors in over four centuries of rare documents and records. Search thousands of historical newspapers, books, pamphlets and genealogies. Plus, selected material from the American State Papers and U.S. Serial Set, the complete Social Security Death Index and more than 29 million obituaries.
- Ancestry.com (Available inside the library only) - Access the U.S. Federal Census (1790-1930), the U.K. Census Collection (1861-1901), the U.S. Immigration Collection, Vital Records, Social Security Death Index, military records, and more.
- ArchiveGrid - Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.
- Chicago Tribune (1849 - Current)
- Chicago Tribune Historical Archives - Covering Chicago, the nation, and the world from the past 150 years including: the Civil War, Chicago Mayors, U.S. Presidencies, WWI, WWII, and much more.
- HeritageQuest - Access census records, a genealogy book collection, the Periodical Source Index, Revolutionary War Pension Applications, and more.
- Subrban Life Archives - Fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy to quickly explore historical content.
- Ancestor Hunt - A listing of free genealogy search engines
- Chicago Graveyards
- Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
- Czech and Slovak Genealogy
- Ellis Island Database
- Family History Centers
- Family History Library
- Find A Grave
- Genealogy Resources @ The Newberry
- GenUK-I - Genealogy resources for the UK and Ireland
- Illinois Department of Public Health Death Certificates Database
- Illinois Digital Archives
- Linkpendium - A list of sites for genalogy research
- National Archives Genealogy Page
- Social Security Death Index Interactive Search
- Soundex Converter
Last updated: 1/23/2012