Encyclopedias, Almanacs, & Dictionaries

Note: To use the databases from home, click on the link or "Home Access" wherever noted. Patrons working inside the library need not do this.

Legend:
database icon = Subscription-based database, paid for by the library
arrow icon = Free website
  • Credo Reference - An online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference covers every major subject.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Database - A wealth of reference e-books in topics ranging from health and literature to politics and science.
  • World Almanac - Four complete almanacs: Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and The World Almanac for Kids.
  • World Book Info Finder - Contains content and features designed for school-aged patrons’ homework and research needs. Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, the site features rich collections of multimedia on a variety of topics: science fair projects; a Biography Center; links to world newspapers; and more.
  • Brittanica Concise Encyclopedia
  • CIA World Factbook
  • Encarta Encyclopedia
  • American Heritage Dictionary
  • Merriam-Webster Dictionary
  • InfoPlease - A collection of almanacs, encylopedias, atlases, dictionaries & more
  • Wikipedia - the online encyclopedia created by users

 

Last updated: 10/24/2011