Do It Yourself: Hobbies, Home Improvement, and Auto Repair

Note: To use the databases from home, click on the link or "Home Access" wherever noted. Patrons working inside the library need not do this.

Legend:
database icon = Subscription-based database, paid for by the library
arrow icon = Free website
  • ChiltonLibrary.com -  ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site.
  • Gardening, Lanscape & Horticulture Collection - A subscription database of periodical articles
  • Home Improvement Collection - A subscription database of periodical articles
  • Mango Languages - Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective. The system is completely web-based and remotely accessible, so you can learn anywhere you have an internet connection.
  • PriceIt! Antiques & Collectibles - An antique/collectibles pricing tool, containing data from a variety of sources, including online auctions (eBay), online antique dealers (GoAntiques & TIAS) and land-based auction houses. The database currently has over 23 million prices realized for art, antiques and collectibles in more than 100 categories and subcategories with over 10 million images.
  • Universal Class - Access to over 540 online courses with real instructors guiding the learning, including gardening, art, cooking, and pet care.
  • Acme How To - An excellent site for step-by-step troubleshooting and repair of common household problems, as well as tips on basic home maintenance.
  • Brookfield Garden Club Newsletter
  • DIY Network
  • HGTV
  • Renovation Nation - Repair and renovate using green materials
  • RepairClinic.com - This commercial website contains tips, helpful hints, and troubleshooting for a variety of appliances: Washers & Dryers, Ranges, Refrigerators, Dishwashers, Garbage Disposals, Icemakers, Air Conditioners, and others. Find an explanation on how the appliance looks and works, what might be wrong, what parts you’ll need. Error codes, recalls, and news are also available.
  • This Old House

 

Last updated: 11/16/2011